Monday, 7 October 2013

Nobel Prizes 2013

Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize is awarded for outstanding contributions in the field of physics, chemistry, Literature, peace, Physiology or Medicine, and Economic Sciences by the  Scandinavian committees from 1901 onwards.

Now it’s time for the 2013 Winners to be declared.

Announced at
Monday 7 October, 11:30 a.m. CET at the earliest
Tuesday 8 October, 11:45 a.m. CET at the earliest
Wednesday 9 October, 11:45 a.m. CET at the earliest
Friday 11 October, 11:00 a.m. CET
Economic Sciences
Monday 14 October, 1:00 p.m. CET at the earliest
The date will be set later

Some Interesting Facts:

In 1964 Jean-Paul Sartre(Literature)  & in 1973 Lê Ðức Thọ (Peace), refuses the Nobel Prize voluntarily.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee confirmed that Mahatma Gandhi was nominated for the Peace Prize in 1937–39, 1947 and a few days before he was assassinated in January 1948. Later members of the Norwegian Nobel Committee expressed regret that he was not given the prize. Geir Lundestad, Secretary of Norwegian Nobel Committee in 2006 said, "The greatest omission in our 106 year history is undoubtedly that Mahatma Gandhi never received the Nobel Peace prize. Gandhi could do without the Nobel Peace prize. Whether Nobel committee can do without Gandhi is the question"

No comments:

Post a Comment

Creative Commons Licence
BLOG by Suresh is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at